The Town Hall opened in 1938, on the central square in Maranello, after 70 years of municipal councils in uncomfortable rooms in the outbuildings of the castle.
When Maranello became a free city in 1860, the first council meeting opened with a proposal: they wanted to build a more suitable municipal seat. The motion did not pass, and 70 later the council continued to meet in rooms next to the castle, located just over 1 km from the city.
After Maranello experienced an urban expansion season on land bequeathed by Carlo Stradi, the question of the new town hall resurfaced. The first concrete proposal was made in the year 1930: make a change of venue between the recently opened Ospizio Stradi care home and the rooms occupied by the municipal seat.
The idea took shape only partially. The Town Hall was temporarily transferred into the premises vacated by the hospital ward at the care home. The old town hall remained empty and was put up for rent as holiday home. It was true that the town hall had come closer to the actual town, but it was still far from having a fully functional headquarters.
In the meantime, however, to overcome unemployment following the 1929 crisis, the administration of Maranello promoted the construction of a central square which would be named Piazza Roma. This was the place chosen for the real new Town Hall, and the project was approved in 1937.
The new Town Hall was built quickly and the grand opening took place on 28 October 1938, on the anniversary of the March on Rome. Today, Piazza Roma has changed its name to Piazza della Libertà and the Maranello Town Hall stands as a precious example of rationalist architecture of the 1930s.
Silvano Soragni, Maranello, dal Feudo Calcagnini… alla Scuderia Ferrari”, Artioli Editore, 2004